In 500th Career Cup Start, Hamlin To Start From The Pole Sunday In Dover

Denny Hamlin is celebrating a historic start this weekend at the Dover International Speedway. The Joe Gibbs Racing driver will make his 500th start in Sunday’s Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race. He’ll do so, from the pole.

Hamlin, circled the Monster Mile on Saturday with a speed of 166.984 mph in his No. 11 Toyota en route to his 32nd career Busch Pole Award – two of which coming this season. The pole breaks a tie with his teammate Kyle Busch for 24th on the all-time poles list in NASCAR’s premiere series.

What’s shocking is, this will be Hamlin’s first top five start since his pole for the Bristol Night Race back in August.

Joining Hamlin on the front row is Kyle Larson. The Chip Ganassi Racing driver turned in a lap of 166.960 mph in his No. 42 Chevrolet. Larson, was quickest in final practice in both single lap as well as 10 lap averages on Friday.

Martin Truex Jr. (166.205 mph) will start third in his No. 19 Toyota. Truex, won the race back in May but lost his car chief for the rest of the weekend after his car failed inspection multiple times.

Kevin Harvick (165.998 mph) and Chase Elliott (165.937 mph) rounded out the top five. With Truex, Harvick and Elliott all starting in the top five, that means each of the last three Dover race winners in Cup competition will roll off in the top 3 Rows.

Harvick, has seven top eight starting spots over his last eight starts on the season in his No. 4 Ford. Elliott, will start in the top eight for the third time in the last four races.

Drydene 400 Starting Lineup

Row 1: Denny Hamlin, Kyle Larson

Row 2: Martin Truex Jr., Kevin Harvick

Row 3: Chase Elliott, William Byron

Row 4: Aric Almirola, Erik Jones

Row 5: Kurt Busch, Ryan Blaney

Row 6: Jimmie Johnson, Alex Bowman

Row 7: Paul Menard, Joey Logano

Row 8: Daniel Suarez, Brad Keselowski

Row 9: Clint Bowyer, Kyle Busch

Row 10: Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Matt DiBenedetto

Row 11: David Ragan, Chris Buescher

Row 12: Matt Tifft R, Ryan Newman

Row 13: Ty Dillon, Bubba Wallace

Row 14: Austin Dillon, Michael McDowell

Row 15: Corey LaJoie, Landon Cassill

Row 16: Daniel Hemirc R, Ryan Preece R

Row 17: BJ McLeod, Ross Chastain

Row 18: JJ Yeley, Joe Nemechek

Row 19: Garrett Smithley, Reed Sorenson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s