Hunter-Reay To Run Endurance Races For Mazda, Including Rolex 24 Hours Of Daytona

On Thursday, Mazda Team Joest announced their driver lineup for the 2020 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.

Partnering for the third straight season in the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P will be Jonathan Bomarito (USA) and Harry Tincknell (GBR). Bomarito, Tincknell and Olivier Pla delivered Mazda’s first victory in the Daytona Prototype international class in June at the Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen while Bomarito and Tincknell scored another victory at Road America. For Bomarito, this will be his ninth season racing with Mazda.

For 2020, they will be joined in the Michelin Endurance Cup by Ryan Hunter-Reay (USA). Hunter-Reay, the 2012 NTT Indycar Series champion and the winner of the 2014 Indianapolis 500, drove the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P at Mid-Ohio alongside Bomarito, finishing in third position. Hunter-Reay has competed extensively in sports cars, with an overall victory at Petit Le Mans and a class victory at the 12 Hours of Sebring on his resume.

“I’m thrilled to be joining Mazda Team Joest for the 2020 IMSA endurance races,” Hunter-Reay said. “I filled in for Harry at Mid-Ohio last year, teaming up with my buddy Jonathan Bomarito, and from the first practice I knew the car really suited my driving style. I thoroughly enjoyed working with the whole team – it’s a first-class effort all around. We capped off the weekend with a double-podium for Mazda and I’ve been eager to get back in the RT24-P ever since. I’m excited for what this team is capable of in 2020, and I’m ready to get to work!”

Hunter-Reay, joins a bunch of fellow NTT IndyCar Series competitors in Daytona this month. Full-time drivers Simon Pagenaud (Penske), Alexander Rossi (Penske) and Colton Herta (RLL-BMW) will run as will current part-time or former series drivers themselves.

Olivier Jarvis (GBR) and Tristan Nunez (USA) will partner for a third season in the No. 77 Mazda RT24-P. Jarvis and Nunez scored their first victory in July at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park and finished on the podium three additional times in the 2019 season, while Jarvis qualified on pole three times in 2019. This will be Nunez’ eighth season racing for Mazda.

The two will be joined in the Michelin Endurance Cup rounds by Olivier Pla (FRA), who moves over from the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P for the 2020 season. A sports car racing standout who also has an overall victory at Petit Le Mans on his resume, Pla was part of the Mazda driver lineup that took victory at the Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen in June.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s