Can Anyone Catch Penske In 2020?

Roger Penske made the biggest impact during the NTT IndyCar Series offseason. Penske, coming off of this third series championship in four years last September, bought the rights to not just the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and all of its assets, but the series as a whole too.

Now, can Penske, the new owner of IndyCar, win a fourth championship since 2016?

Josef Newgarden celebrates after winning the 2019 IndyCar season championship, his 2nd in the last 3 years

All signs point to yes. The same three drivers return for another go around. Simon Pagenaud finished second to his teammate Josef Newgarden for the championship last year as the Frenchman swept the Month of May with an INDYCAR Grand Prix win, an Indy 500 pole as well as an Indy 500 triumph. Pagenaud, ended 2019 with nine straight top 10 finishes including 14 of the last 15 races. He arguably had more momentum at the end of the season than champion Newgarden.

Newgarden, had eight top 10’s over his last nine starts to his championship winning 2019 campaign, but had just one win over the final eight races. Pagenaud, finished ahead of Newgarden in four of the last five races to the season.

That should make those two the favorites for 2020.

But, don’t count out their other teammate Will Power. The 2018 Indy 500 champion closed 2019 better than both Newgarden and Pagenaud. Power, had two wins over the final four races and three top two finishes in that same time frame. From Mid-Ohio in late July through the end of the season, Power finished worse than fourth just once. If he can get luck on his side for a full season, then watch out.

On top of all of this, no one has scored as many wins than Penske since 2015. They’ve reached victory lane an astounding 38 times. The next best is Andretti Autosport in second with 13. Chip Ganassi Racing is the only other team in double digits in the win column over the last four season with 13 too.

If you go back to just 2018, the start of this new cars’ era, Penske has won more than double than the rest of the field. They’ve won 15 times in two years. Andretti is next best with seven. Ganassi has five and Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing three trips to victory lane.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s