Chase Elliott Wins The Pole For Sunday’s FanShield 500

Chase Elliott was the quickest driver of the day around the Phoenix Raceway on Friday. Elliott, was second and first respectively in the two NASCAR Cup Series practice sessions at the 1-mile Arizona oval. On Saturday, Elliott yet again was the fastest.

Elliott, went P1 on his second and final qualifying lap with a speed of 138.116 mph in his No. 9 Chevrolet en route to his ninth career Busch Pole Award. The Georgia native has also qualified in the top 10 in each of his last eight starts in the desert including three of his last four on the front row and five of his last six in the top 2 Rows.

That’s good news for him because nine of the last 11 Phoenix winners have come from a top 10 starting spot with six being a top four starter.

Nine-time Phoenix winner Kevin Harvick will start alongside Elliott in his No. 4 Ford. Harvick, qualified with a lap of 137.878 mph good enough for his fourth front row starting spot at the race track. In two of his previous three front row starts, Harvick won.

Denny Hamlin (137.841 mph) will roll off third in his No. 11 Toyota to give us all three manufacturers starting in the top three spots. Coincidentally enough, the last three pole winners were by each too with Ford (Ryan Blaney) and Toyota (Kyle Busch) earning the two Phoenix poles in 2019. Hamlin, qualified third in both Phoenix races a year ago and has four starting spots in the top 2 Rows in his last six races.

Kyle Larson (137.604 mph) will start fourth in his No. 42 Chevrolet while points leader Ryan Blaney (137.457 mph) rounded out the top five in his No. 12 Ford.

Last weeks winner Alex Bowman will roll off eighth for his fifth top eight starting spot in his last six Phoenix starts.

5 of the rows will have teammates share them –

Row 6 – Erik Jones/Martin Truex Jr.

Row 7 – Joey Logano/Brad Keselowski

Row 10 – Ricky Stenhouse Jr./Ryan Preece

Row 12 – Chris Buescher/Ross Chastain

Row 15 – Tyler Reddick/Austin Dillon

FanShield 500 Starting Lineup

Row 1: Chase Elliott, Kevin Harvick

Row 2: Denny Hamlin, Kyle Larson

Row 3: Ryan Blaney, Aric Almirola

Row 4: Kurt Busch, Alex Bowman

Row 5: Matt DiBenedetto, Kyle Busch

Row 6: Erik Jones, Martin Truex Jr.*

Row 7: Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski

Row 8: Christopher Bell R, Cole Custer R

Row 9: William Byron, Clint Bowyer

Row 10: Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ryan Preece

Row 11: Jimmie Johnson, Michael McDowell

Row 12: Chris Buescher, Ross Chastain

Row 13: Ty Dillon, John Hunter Nemechek*

Row 14: Bubba Wallace, Corey LaJoie

Row 15: Tyler Reddick R, Austin Dillon

Row 16: Daniel Suarez, Brennan Poole R

Row 17: JJ Yeley, Quin Houff R

Row 18: Reed Sorenson, Garrett Smithley

Row 19: Joey Gase, Timmy Hill

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s