Indy 500 Car Count Update

INDIANAPOLIS — Fernando Alonso is back. So is Helio Castroneves. They’ll headline the one-off Indy only entries. James Hinchcliffe will race in a limited schedule including the ‘500. We have a new team (Citrone/Buhl Autosport) who will partner with an existing team (Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing) and bring Spencer Pigot.

Throw in several more part-time entries and mix that with an expanding list of full-time NTT IndyCar Series drivers for 2020 and you get 32 already confirmed entries for the May 24 race (11 a.m. ET/NBC/INDYCAR Radio Network).

We have 31 drivers confirmed for those 32 cars with the TBA full time seat at Carlin in the No. 31 Chevrolet the lone full time and Indy only seat open at the moment.

So, how do the car counts sit?

Sage Karam speeds of pit lane last May at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway – INDYCAR Media Site

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing will likely have a second car as JR Hildebrand has driven it the last two years. Then, there’s the Juncos program. A few years ago, they had two cars, last year they entered with one. Do they come back with one car, two cars or none at all? What about Clauson Marshall?

We’re on pace for 35-37 entries this May.

The 24 full time cars are as follows –

Chevrolet (11)

Team Penske (3) – Josef Newgarden, Will Power, Simon Pagenaud. No plans to expand to a fourth full time car.

McLaren/Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports (2) – Pato O’Ward R, Oliver Askew R

AJ Foyt Racing (2) – Charlie Kimball, Tony Kanaan/Sebastien Bourdais/Dalton Kellett R share the 2nd car

Ed Carpenter Racing (2) – Rinus VeeKay full time seat, Ed Carpenter (ovals)/Conor Daly (road/street courses) for other ride

Carlin (2) – The team will be back with two cars, one being a split ride between Max Chilton (13 races) and Conor Daly (4 races). The other ride is a full time entry for all races and is open too.

Honda (13)

Andretti Autosport (5) – All four current drivers will be back as will Colton Herta with the Harding partnership.

Michael Shank Racing (1) – They had to stay in the Honda family, so when Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports bailed to Chevy, it left MSR searching. They landed with Andretti and will have Jack Harvey as their driver.

Chip Ganassi Racing (3) – Scott Dixon, Felix Rosenqvist and Marcus Ericsson are set.

Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing (2) – Graham Rahal and Takuma Sato are back full time.

Dale Coyne Racing (2) – Alex Palou is in and Bourdais out. Santino Ferrucci will return to the team for a second go around in 2020.

Part Time

We do have some part-time rides though that will contest. St. Pete should have 26 cars on the grid while the IndyCar race on the road course at IMS could have upwards of 27, or even more.

Chevrolet (2)

DragonSpeed (1) – The team is back but Ben Hanely right now will run just one race (St. Pete). While he could run more, the team will also run a veteran in select races too.

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing (1) – Sage Karam is likely heading towards a four race deal with the team. Right now, it looks like St. Pete, both races at Indy and Toronto are on his schedule.

Honda (1)

Andretti Autosport (1) – They announced that James Hinchcliffe will pilot the No. 29 Honda in both IMS races (road course, ‘500) as well as at Texas in June. They’re now set with six cars under their umbrella and a seventh with the alliance with MSR.

Indy Only Rides

Chevrolet (5-6)

Team Penske (1) – They’ll run Scott McLaughlin in the No. 2 Chevrolet for the AMR Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Helio Castroneves in the No. 3 Chevrolet for the Indianapolis 500.

Ed Carpenter Racing (1) – Conor Daly will pilot a third car for the Indy 500 only program.

AJ Foyt Racing (1) – Dalton Kellett will run the third car for the Indy 500 only. Likely will be the No. 41 Chevrolet too.

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing (1) – They’ve showed up to Indy the last two years now with two cars for Sage Karam and JR Hildebrand. They’ll do so again as a two car outfit but Karam’s teammate is unknown.

McLaren/Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports (1) – Fernando Alonso was announced as their Indy only entry in late February.

Juncos (1-2) – They have multiple chassis still but no word yet on if they use them at more races than Indy in 2020. Spencer Pigot has to be the top play with his past success with Juncos and he can run IMSA for them too. I’d like to see Pigot and Kyle Kaiser in a two-car Juncos effort but it’s not my money.

Honda (2-3)

Dale Coyne Racing (1) – They likely are going to bring out a third car again but the driver at the moment is unknown.

Byrd Racing (1) – They’re likely to bring James Davison back. Is it on their own or will they team with DCR again?

Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing (1) – They’re back with their Indy only seat with Spencer Pigot returning. Pigot, raced for them in both Indy races in 2016 as they have teamed with Citrone/Buhl Autosport to make it happen.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s